Home Tips Apple 2020 launch occasion: watch it and what to anticipate

Apple 2020 launch occasion: watch it and what to anticipate

5
0
142128 Phones Feature Apple September 2019 Event How To Watch It And What To Expect Image1 K8rqghc1yz.jpg
142128 Phones Feature Apple September 2019 Event How To Watch It And What To Expect Image1 K8rqghc1yz.jpg



An Apple launch event has been announced for 15 September.

It will be virtual – such are the times we currently live in – and could either be for the launch of the iPhone 12 family of devices or, as rumour suggests, other devices, such as a new iPad and Apple Watch.

It could be for everything at once, of course.

Here’s when and where you can watch it.

When is Apple’s new event?

Apple’s event will take place online on Tuesday 15 September 2020, starting at 10am PDT – local time to Cupertino. Here are the different regional times:

  • West coast US: 10am PDT
  • East coast US: 1pm EDT
  • UK: 6pm BST
  • Central Europe: 7pm CEST
  • China (Beijing): 1am CST (16 September)
  • Japan: 2am JST (16 September)
  • Australia (Sydney): 3am AEST (16 September)

How to watch Apple’s event online

Last year, Apple streamed its event on its own events page and YouTube. Considering that it will be a virtual-only event this year (for obvious reasons), it’s likely to do the same again.

If so, we’ll host it here on Pocket-lint closer the time.

Alternatively, you will be able to watch it on your Apple TV, through Apple Events app from the App Store for Apple TV, or stream from your iOS device via AirPlay.

Just ensure it’s a second-generation Apple TV, with the latest Apple TV software or tvOS.

What to expect from Apple’s 2020 event

It’s all a bit up in the air this year (no pun intended) thanks to the pandemic, but the WWDC 2020 keynote – the first to be all-virtual – went well, so there’s no reason this event shouldn’t also.

There are plenty expecting it to be the launch event for the iPhone 12 family of phones, but not Bloomberg’s Mark Gurman.

He suggests the event could be for a new iPad – possibly the iPad Air – and an Apple Watch Series 6 instead. It’s something we’ve heard from elsewhere ourselves and, considering the official invite is tagged with “Time Flies”, it makes more sense that it is Watch related.

A separate iPhone event could come later, in October.

We’ll have to wait and see. When we hear more we’ll let you know.



Source link